Chennai Super Kings Profile

Chennai Super Kings Profile
Chennai Super Kings Profile

MS Dhoni is the captain.
Stephen Fleming is the coach.
MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai is the team’s home venue.

3 IPL titles (2010, 2011, 2018)

Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd is the company that owns the franchise (a subsidiary of India Cements)

CSK has won three IPL titles under MS Dhoni’s leadership and has only finished worse than fourth place once. The franchise is owned by India Cements, whose chairman is N Srinivasan, a former BCCI president, and ICC chairman. In 2008, CSK has purchased for Rs 360 crore (about US$91 million).

Also Read: Ipl Complete Schedule 2022


In a fickle format, the Chennai Super Kings have advanced to the knockout stages in ten of the IPL’s eleven seasons. Dhoni, who was the highest-paid player in the initial auction (Rs 9.5 crore, or nearly US$1.5 million), became the team’s face, heart, and soul. His intuition, together with coach Stephen Fleming’s tactics, has been instrumental in the Super Kings’ long-term success. CSK won back-to-back titles in the next two seasons after losing the final on the last ball in 2008 and the semi-final in 2009. They struggled in the knockout stages of the next four IPLs, and the Supreme Court-appointed Lodha Committee banned them for two years due to a spot-fixing scam.

CSK, on the other hand, marked their return with their third title in 2018, despite (or perhaps because of) their squad’s overwhelming reliance on players over the age of 30.

In 2019, the Super Kings faced their bogey opponents, Mumbai, in a thrilling final, with Rohit Sharma and his team eventually stealing a one-run victory. They struggled to adapt to the circumstances in the UAE the next year and crashed and burned, finishing at the bottom of the table.

The best of it

After the 2018 auction, the Super Kings were mocked as a “Dad’s Army,” but they proved the detractors wrong by winning their third IPL title with an unbeaten century in the final from Shane Watson, one of their several over-30s heroes. They couldn’t have wished for a more successful return from a two-year hiatus.

The lowest points
The Super Kings were brought to their knees when Gurunath Meiyappan, Srinivasan’s son-in-law, was arrested on allegations of cheating, forgery, and fraud. The Super Kings franchise was likewise halted two years later due to Meiyappan’s actions. In 2020, Dhoni’s personal worst season coincided with CSK’s worst: they missed the playoffs for the first time in franchise history.

Seasons after seasons

Runners-up in 2008

CSK won eight of their 14 league games and easily defeated Kings XI Punjab in the semi-finals, thanks to the brilliance of their seamers and the batsmanship of Dhoni and Suresh Raina.

The seamers and Muttiah Muralitharan then dragged the match to the final ball, but Shane Warne and Sohail Tanvir ensured the Rajasthan Royals a joyful ending.

2009 was the fourth year.

Matthew Hayden, Raina, and Murali combined to help the Super Kings finish second on the standings in the IPL. Local youngsters Manish Pandey and Vinay Kumar of the Royal Challengers Bangalore, however, beat them in the semi-final.

champions in 2010

The season in when Dhoni established himself as Chennai’s thala. After CSK’s captain scorched Kings XI’s Irfan Pathan for 4, 2, 6, 6 in the final over of a must-win match, the team blew hot and cold early in the competition. Kieron Pollard threatened to steal the game in the final, but Dhoni set up Hayden at short mid-off to trap him, and CSK won their maiden title.

Champions in 2011

This season, CSK transformed Chepauk into a fortress, winning all of their games there, including the final against RCB.

Suraj Randiv stepped in to fill the Murali void, while Shadab Jakati and Doug Bollinger each had their moments, but R Ashwin was the standout bowler, even dismissing Chris Gayle for a duck in the final, in which M Vijay sparkled with 95 off 52 balls.

Runners-up in 2012
CSK won five of their eight league games at home, and Vijay added a sixth with a century against the Delhi Daredevils, propelling them to the final. In that final, Vijay, Mike Hussey, and Raina all performed admirably, but an unheralded Manvinder Bisla prevented Dhoni’s side from completing a hat-trick of titles.

Runners-up in 2013
Hussey, in a spectacular form that season, took off Mumbai with a magnificent 86 not out, setting up a title clash against the same opponents, thanks to a seven-match winning streak. CSK reduced Mumbai to 52 for 4 in the final, but Pollard’s unbroken 60 off 32 balls shifted the scales in Mumbai’s favor.

2014 was the third year.

Despite scoring 205 for 4 against Kings XI in Abu Dhabi, CSK lost their first match. Despite their home matches being transferred to Ranchi owing to a local conflict, they won eight of their next nine games on their route back to the playoffs. In the second qualifier, Raina smashed 87 off 25 balls against the Kings XI.but it wasn’t enough to get them to the championship game.

Runners-up in 2015

Chepauk has had another strong season, winning six of their seven home games. On their way to the top of the table, they won three games and then beat RCB in the second qualifier. In the final, though, Mumbai defeated them for the second time. The IPL was dominated by seamers, with CSK’s Dwayne Bravo taking the most wickets and Ashish Nehra coming in fourth. Suspended in 2016 and 2017.

champions in 2018

CSK only played one game in Chepauk before relocating to Pune due to a water issue on the Cauvery River. Lungi Ngidi made crucial breakthroughs on Pune’s seam-friendly tracks, and when it mattered most, he delivered.

As Fleming phrased it, the aging side “run out of juice.” In the middle order, Dhoni and Kedhar Jadhav battled, as the spinners lacked penetration away from Chepauk.

MS Dhoni is a key player.

Even as analytics revolutionize the T20 game, Dhoni continues to rely on his intuition to lead the Super Kings to victory. While his strength has faded in recent years, he still finds a way to help his team win games. In Chennai, Dhoni is regarded as a cult figure.

Players who are important

Suresh Raina is a cricketer from India.
Raina, like Dhoni, is a popular figure in Chennai. Only Virat Kohli has scored more runs in the IPL with 5368. Over 10 seasons with CSK, he only missed one game before opting out of the 2020 season.

Bravo, Dwayne
Bravo has been Dhoni’s go-to bowler in the death, having become the first player to capture 500 wickets in the T20s. He has various variations in his repertoire, including the slower dipping yorker. He got 32 wickets in 18 matches in the 2013 IPL, with an economy rate of 7.95. Only Alfonso Thomas (33 wickets) has taken more in a T20 league season.

R Ashwin is a cricketer from India.

Although CSK let Ashwin go before the 2018 season, he remains one of their top wicket-takers. At Chepauk, he unleashed loose with his off-breaks and carrom balls, frequently stepping forward to bowl the tough overs in the powerplay.

Chahar, Deepak

Chahar was drafted by CSK in the 2018 auction as a batting allrounder, but he quickly established himself as a swing bowler in the powerplay. The following season, he arrived in Chennai with a knuckleball and a back-of-the-length off-cutter added to his arsenal.

Also Related:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.