Cricket Six memorable moments from T20 World Cup

Cricket Six memorable moments from T20 World Cup


The 2021 T20 World Cup kicks off on October 17 in the United Arab Emirates and Oman and runs through November 14 in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

Six notable moments from the last six tournaments are examined by AFP Sport:

Yuvraj takes route 6×6

In a group game against England in Durban during the first 2007 T20 World Cup in South Africa, India’s Yuvraj Singh blasted six sixes in an over off the woeful Stuart Broad. A verbal incident with Andrew Flintoff had spurred Yuvraj, and he went on to lead his team to an 18-run victory. In the final, India was supposed to beat Pakistan.

Dutch courage at Lord’s

In the 2009 tournament opener, the Netherlands stunned England by winning by four wickets at Lord’s, the ‘Home of Cricket,’ in one of cricket’s greatest upsets. The Dutch scored two runs off the final ball to win by 163 runs. “We set out a few months ago to achieve a few things — and this was one of them,” Tommy de Growth, who scored a critical 49 for the Netherlands, said. We wanted to play at Lord’s, qualify for the World Cup in 2011, and beat a major nation, and I believe we have accomplished all of those goals.”

Also Read; Mens T20 World Cup 2021 Complete list of players in India squad

Carlos Brathwaite, ‘remember the name’

West Indies, chasing a 156-run goal, required 19 runs off the final over to be dismissed by Ben Stokes, and England sniffed victory in the 2016 final at Eden Gardens. Brathwaite hit four consecutive sixes into the Kolkata night sky with Marlon Samuels at the other end following critical innings of 85 runs in 66 balls. “Carlos Brathwaite!” exclaims the narrator. Remember the name, Carlos Brathwaite! Ian Bishop, a commentator, called it “history for the West Indies.”

Pakistan heal wounds

Pakistan won the 2009 trophy with an eight-wicket victory over Sri Lanka at Lord’s, two years after their painful final defeat to old rivals India by just five runs in Johannesburg. Pakistan held Sri Lanka to 138-6 before Shahid Afridi led the run chase with an unbeaten 54 off 40 deliveries.

Heroic Herath

Sri Lanka won the 2014 tournament in Bangladesh, however, they only made the semi-finals thanks to spinner Rangana Herath’s deft talents and control. In a crucial qualification match against New Zealand, Sri Lanka was bowled out for just 119 runs. But Herath dismissed Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, and Trent Boult as the Black Caps were undone for just 60 runs. Herath claimed five wickets for just three runs.

Root, Roy star in epic chase

South Africa scored 229-4 off their 20 overs in Mumbai in 2016, with Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, and JP Duminy all scoring half-centuries.

It was the second highest total in a T20 World Cup at the time, but England dug deep with Joe Root’s 44-ball 83 and Jason Roy’s 43 from 16 deliveries.

With the scores equal, England lost two wickets in the final over before Moeen Ali won victory with two balls to spare.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.