Delhi Capitals Profile

Delhi Capitals Profile
Delhi Capitals Profile

Rishabh Pant is the captain.
Ricky Ponting is the team’s coach.
New Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium is the team’s home venue.

0 titles in the IPL

GMR Group and JSW Sports are the owners.

In the 2020 season, the Delhi Capitals (formerly Daredevils) reached the title round for the first time, losing to the Mumbai Indians. They had previously failed to go past the semi-finals in each of the first two seasons, as well as the playoffs in 2012 and 2019. The GMR Group originally owned the franchise outright but sold a 50% share to JSW Sports in 2018.

Also Read: Ipl Complete Schedule 2022


The Capitals have struggled in the IPL over the years, despite a promising start in the first two years. They qualified for the playoffs as well, finishing third after topping the standings.

In 2012, at the end of the group stage, but last in 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2018.

The franchise was renamed the Delhi Capitals in December 2018, and the name change seemed to bring with it a change of fortune: they made the playoffs in 2019, and in 2020, they reached the final for the first time with a primarily young roster. But that was the end of it.

In retrospect, some of the decisions they made when forming their squads may have harmed them over time. They didn’t pursue Virat Kohli aggressively in 2008, owing to the fact that they already had Virender Sehwag, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Tillakaratne Dilshan, and AB de Villiers. Gambhir was therefore discharged after three years with the squad, which included many runs and solid leadership in the 2010 season.

Kohli, of course, has yet to win the IPL with the Royal Challengers Bangalore, but he is the competition’s all-time leading run-scorer, while Gambhir has guided the Kolkata Knight Riders to two IPL wins. David Warner, AB de Villiers, Andre Russell, and Trent Boult are among the players Delhi has let leave throughout the years.

The peaks

Delhi had successful seasons in 2008 and 2009, reaching the semi-finals, and though they reached the final in 2020, their finest year was perhaps 2012, when they won 11 of their 16 league matches despite being eliminated in the qualifications. Sehwag, Mahela Jayawardene, and Kevin Pietersen all scored over 300 runs that year (Sehwag scored 495), and Morne Morkel and Umesh Yadav combined for 44 wickets. In 2020, they appeared to turn a corner under youthful Shreyas Iyer, with Ricky Ponting tugging the strings from the backroom.

The lowest points

From 2013 to 2018, Delhi was at a low point. They tried everything, but nothing seemed to work or even make sense. Even if they didn’t finish last, they couldn’t get above sixth place on the table.

Seasons after seasons

2008 is the fourth year

Delhi had a strong start, winning two games in a row, and went on to win seven out of 14 games to finish fourth in the points standings. The Rajasthan Royals, who had beaten Delhi in their opening game, we’re on a run and beat Delhi in the semi-final en route to winning the tournament.

2009 was the third year.

In the group stage of the competition, which was held in South Africa, Delhi was the most in-form team. They won ten of their first 14 games and headed the table heading into the knockouts when they were defeated in the semi-final by eventual champions Deccan Chargers.

The year 2010 was the fifth.

Delhi had hoped to expand on their success from the previous two seasons, but after winning their first two games, they only won five more, finishing equal for third place with the Mumbai Indians and the Deccan Chargers on points. The Chennai Super Kings and the Royal Challengers Bangalore advanced despite their low net run rate.

2013 is the ninth year.

With three wins and 13 losses, Delhi is in the midst of one of its worst slumps. Their first win came against the Mumbai Indians in their seventh game, and following two wins, they went on a six-game losing streak to end their season.

2014 is the eighth year.

Another season, another dreadful showing. They won two and lost 12 games this year, with two wins coming in their first five games in the UAE, after winning three and losing 13 the previous year when the tournament was reduced to eight teams. Delhi finished the tournament with a nine-game losing streak.

The year 2015 is the seventh.

Nothing that Delhi did at the time seemed to work. Their record was slightly better than in 2014, although with five victories and eight losses, they only finished ahead of Kings XI Punjab, another team with a reputation for ending in the bottom half of the standings. 2016 is the sixth year.

Delhi’s fortunes improved slightly, as they moved one step up the table after languishing at the bottom with seven victories and seven losses. Quinton de Kock led the way with 445 runs, while Amit Mishra and another South African import, Chris Morris, combined for 26 wickets.

The year 2017 is the sixth.

With another sixth-place finish, Delhi has reached a stalemate, this time with six victories and eight losses. Despite this, there was cause to believe that the nucleus of a great team was coming together, with Sanju Samson, Rishabh Pant, and Shreyas Iyer all scoring over 300 runs for the season.

The year 2018 is the eighth.

Pant scored 684 runs with a strike rate of 173.60 in 14 innings, Iyer added 411 runs, while Vijay Shankar, Prithvi Shaw, and Trent Boult (18 wickets) all contributed, but Delhi still lost nine games and won only five. For the fourth time, they were relegated to the bottom of the standings.

2019 is the third year.

Dhawan returned to his home team, and he, Pant, Iyer, and Shaw scored nearly 1500 runs between them. With 25 wickets, Kagiso Rabada topped the bowling attack. This season, Delhi finished third on the table after winning nine games. They won the eliminator against Sunrisers Hyderabad – their first-ever knockout win – but were subsequently knocked out by CSK.

Runners-up in 2020

With the bat, Dhawan and Iyer scored 618 and 519 runs, respectively; the pace attack of Rabada and Anrich Nortje took 52 wickets between them; while all-rounders Axar Patel and Marcus Stoinis performed admirably.

After defeating SRH in the semifinals, the Capitals won eight of their 14 league matches to go to the final, where they were defeated in the title game.

Players who are important

Virender Sehwag is a cricketer from India.

Sehwag, who last played in 2013, only fell out of the top rank for Delhi’s top run-getters in 2020, when Iyer passed him with 2174 runs. In each of the first two seasons, he led the team to the top four. They made the playoffs again in 2012, and Sehwag was instrumental in that as well, becoming only the second man in T20 history to knock five consecutive half-centuries in a season.

Mishra, Amit

Mishra has also played for the Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad, but it was with Delhi that he attained IPL greatness, taking 100 wickets in 95 matches, the highest for any player in the franchise’s history.

Rishabh Pant is a Bollywood actor.

Pant, who has only played five seasons in the IPL, is the team’s third-highest run-scorer with 2079 runs. More importantly, his strike rate of 151.97 has made him one of the bowlers’ most feared opponents in recent years.

Iyer, Shreyas

Iyer, like Pant, has yet to play for another IPL side, and his numbers speak for themselves: close to 2200 runs in six seasons. He’s the man Delhi has turned to for batting stability and leadership, and he’s guided them to top-three finishes in both of the last two seasons.

With 61 wickets in just three seasons, Kagiso Rabada is another player who has ensured Delhi’s clutch to him. He was the competition’s leading wicket-taker in 2020, with 30 strikes, but he was also Delhi’s best in 2019, with 25 wickets from 12 games, and an economy rate of 8.23 over three seasons.

Also Related:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.