ICC appoints match officials for T20 World Cup

ICC appoints match officials for T20 World Cup

The appointments for Round One matches and the Super 12 phase of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 were announced on Thursday by the International Cricket Council, which included 20 of the best match officials from around the world.

Three umpires will be officiating in their sixth ICC Men’s T20 World Cups — Aleem Dar, Marais Erasmus, and Rod Tucker – among the 16 umpires and four-match referees finalized for the 45-match competition.

For the first time since the Covid-19 pandemic began, there will be impartial umpires for all 16-team tournament matches, which will take place from October 17 to November 14 in Muscat (Oman), Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, and Dubai (UAE).

Kumar Dharmasena of Sri Lanka, who was one of the on-field umpires for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 final, will be in the middle for the tournament’s first match, which pits Oman against Papua New Guinea, alongside New Zealander Chris Gaffaney.

Also Read; National T20 Cup Central Punjab vs Northern Live Score – Match 23

Ranjan Madugalle, another Sri Lankan with a lot of experience, will be the match referee, with Richard Kettleborough as the TV umpire and Ahsan Raza as the fourth official.

Dar and Erasmus have been appointed for the Super 12 match between England and the West Indies, which is a replay of the 2016 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup final, with Australian legend David Boon as the match referee and Chris Brown as the match umpire.

On TV duty at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time.

Officials have been named for the whole first round and Super 12s, with the semi-finals and finals of the event in the UAE and Oman to be announced in due time.
“We are happy to be able to call on some of the world’s top officials for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup with a group of 16 umpires and four-match referees,” said Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees.

“Our goal is to always pick the best officials possible, and we’ve been able to do so in all matches by appointing neutral umpires and referees.”

We wish them all the best and are convinced that they will guarantee that the matches run well.”

David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, and Javagal Srinath are the match referees at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

Chris Brown, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Rod Tucker, Joel Wilson, Paul Wilson, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.