Punjab Kings Profile

Punjab Kings Profile
Punjab Kings Profile

Captain:  KL Rahul

Coach: Anil Kumble

Home ground: Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

IPL titles: 0

Owners: Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Karan Paul

Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul bought the Punjab Kings (formerly the Kings XI Punjab) for Rs 304 crore (about US$ 76 million) in 2008. The Rajasthan Royals (Rs 268 crore, $67 million) and Kolkata Knight Riders (Rs 300 crore, $75.09 million) were the only franchises to sell for less. Punjab has only reached the IPL final once after changing its name ahead of the 2021 IPL for “a fresh appearance and fresh feel.”

Also Read: Ipl Complete Schedule 2022


They got off to a great start in the first season, but haven’t been able to maintain their success due to a lack of a steady core. The IPL governing board removed Punjab and Rajasthan Royals from the league in October 2010, citing violations of shareholding and ownership rules. Both franchises were reinstated once the dispute went to court, but the uncertainty hampered Punjab’s intentions for the 2011 auction, where they had a chance to rebuild their team. Their coach, Michael Bevan, was hired only four days before the auction, leaving them little time to arrange their bidding strategy, and they were unable to keep any of their players.

After three more mediocre years, they struck gold in the 2014 auction, creating an entertaining side under Sanjay Bangar as a coach, winning the league and losing a close final against KKR, while also reaching the Champions League T20 semi-finals. They haven’t been able to maintain those gains since then.

The peaks

In 2014, a new-look team led by George Bailey set a blistering pace. Glenn Maxwell, the tournament’s player of the tournament, got things going early with a flurry of marauding innings, ably backed up by David Miller. Punjab topped the table with 11 wins in 14 games, but despite amassing 199 points, they were narrowly defeated in the final.

The lowest points

They finished three times as wooden spooners: in 2010, 2015, and 2016. The 2015 season was especially vexing because it came so soon after their greatest year. In 2015, they only won three games and lost eleven.

Seasons after seasons

2008 was the third year.

Shaun Marsh gained international recognition after a sensational season in which he scored 616 runs and led Punjab to the knockout stages after winning 11 of their 14 league games. In the semi-final, they were defeated by the Chennai Super Kings by nine wickets. 2009 is the fifth year.
They were tied for points on the table with the Deccan Chargers — the eventual champions – but their net run rate was significantly lower, hence they were unable to advance to the semi-finals.

2010 is the eighth year.

Despite the fact that Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara combined for nearly 800 runs, while Irfan Pathan contributed all over, Punjab looked to lose the crucial moments. Only one of their first eight games resulted in a victory. The losses were often tight, but they withered without the points to show for it, finally ending last in the standings.

The year 2011 was the fifth.

This year, Punjab was unable to qualify for the knockout stages. Adam Gilchrist guided a retooled squad; Marsh remained and had another outstanding season. The rest of their batting and bowling were adequate and consistent, but not remarkable, as evidenced by their final position.

2012 is the sixth year.

Although their leading scorer, Mandeep Singh, received the Emerging Player of the Year title, the bowlers, led by Parvinder Awana and Piyush Chawla, outperformed the batsmen this season. Punjab came in the sixth position out of nine teams, with only one point separating the fourth and fifth places. The year 2013 is the sixth.

The highlight of their season came when David Miller made his mark on the big stage with a 38-ball undefeated century against the Royal Challengers Bangalore, although they had a mixed season, winning eight games and losing eight.

Runners-up in 2014

With 11 wins, they were the clear leaders in the group stage. With the bat, Maxwell and Miller had a fantastic season; Virender Sehwag scored a crucial century in the second qualifier, but despite a century from Wriddhiman Saha in the final, Punjab was defeated by KKR in an exciting last-over finish.

The year 2015 is the eighth.

Everything that could possibly go wrong did. Maxwell pitched 11 innings at a 13-run average, and Miller, although being the team’s leading scorer, was a shell of his former self. Punjab was relegated to the bottom of the standings after only three wins in the league campaign.

2016 is the eighth year.

Another dreadful campaign. In their final league match, against Rising Pune Supergiant, their fortunes were mirrored. Both sides were on eight points and fighting for a top-four finish, and Punjab appeared to have the better hand, defending 23 off the final over. However, MS Dhoni smashed four and two sixes off the last three balls to give Pune the victory.

2017 – Punjab had a better season than the previous two, but they were bowled out for 73, their lowest total in the IPL so far, against Rising Pune Supergiant in a game they needed to win to be in contention for a playoff position.

The year 2018 is the seventh.

After yet another massive auction, R Ashwin was named captain and the squad experienced yet another overhaul. They won five of their first six games, but then had their fortunes turned around, winning only one of their next eight. KL Rahul’s 659 runs, the third-best total of the season, were a bright spot.

The year 2019 is the sixth.

Punjab ended with six wins and 12 points, one rank higher than the previous year in the table. They would have qualified for the playoffs if one tight loss had been turned into a win, but despite strong performances from Rahul, Ashwin, and Mohammed Shami, they were inconsistent.

Punjab finished the season with six victories and a total of 12 points. Their season was a rollercoaster, with only one win to show for numerous agonizingly close games in the first half, then five straight wins in a late push for a postseason place, but they were unable to maintain that momentum.

Players who are important

Rahul KL

In the 2018 auction, he was purchased for Rs 11 crore ($1.7 million) and has been the franchise’s best-run scorer in every season thereafter. He was named captain ahead of the 2020 edition and was the tournament’s leading run-scorer that year.

2020 is the sixth year.

Chris Gayle is a professional basketball player.
Gayle, who was purchased at the very end of the 2018 auction, overcame some mediocre T20 performances to become the team’s batting lynchpin. In just 31 outings, he has amassed over 1100 runs with a strike rate and average that rivals the best. His six-hitting ability has improved dramatically over the years.

Marsh, Shaun

Marsh, statistically Punjab’s most successful batsman to date, has not had a single bad season in almost eleven years with the team, quietly and successfully accumulating up runs. His career took off after the first IPL, but despite ups and downs elsewhere, he was a rock-steady performer for Punjab, amassing around 2500 runs.

Miller, David

Another batsman whose exploits for Punjab drew worldwide recognition. He’s even captained the club, though not with much success, and he was one of the few constants in a side that was otherwise in change for eight seasons.

Also Related:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.