Sunrisers Hyderabad Profile

Sunrisers Hyderabad Profile
Sunrisers Hyderabad Profile
Sunrisers Hyderabad Profile

Captain: David Warner

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Home ground: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

IPL titles: 1 (2016)

Owners: Sun TV Network

The Sunrisers Hyderabad joined the IPL in 2013, after the Deccan Chargers, the previous Hyderabad-based franchise, was dissolved owing to long-term financial problems. Sun TV Network purchased the SRH franchise for Rs 85.05 crores (about US$15.9 million) each year for a five-year arrangement.

Also Read: Ipl Complete Schedule 2022


The Sunrisers needed significant time to build a stable core despite acquiring a team (the new owners kept 20 players from the Chargers roster, including Kumar Sangakkara as captain). They tried out four captains in the first two years: Sangakkara, Cameron White, Darryl Sammy, and Shikhar Dhawan. While their bowling proved to be their strongest suit, they failed to establish their best XI in general.

When David Warner was named captain in 2015, the Sunrisers began to form their own identity. The squad finished sixth that year, but Warner, unlike his predecessors, was able to keep his captaincy because of his own good efforts. Around the same time, Muttiah Muralitharan took over as bowling consultant from Waqar Younis, and the quartet of head coach Tom Moody, mentor VVS Laxman, Murali, and Warner functioned like clockwork for the next several years. Trevor Bayliss was named head coach in 2020, and Brad Haddin was named assistant coach. Moody returned to the Sunrisers camp before the 2021 season, this time as the director of cricket.

The peaks

The Sunrisers won their first title in 2016 after finishing third in the points table and winning three knockout games in a row. Despite the absence of Warner, their captain and best batter, they reached the final in 2018.

The lowest points

In 2014 and 2015, SRH finished sixth on the table. They needed one win from their final two games – both at home – to make the playoffs in 2015, but they fell short.

season season by season

2013 – fourth

Sangakkara’s poor play cost him the captaincy midway through the season, and he missed half of SRH’s matches. The Sunrisers’ bowling, led by Dale Steyn, helped them finish in the middle of the table in their first season. In the eliminator, they were defeated by the Rajasthan Royals.

2014 is the sixth year.

The Sunrisers had Dhawan as captain at the start of the competition, but he was replaced by Sammy at the conclusion to allow Dhawan to concentrate on his batting. With Warner primarily hitting in the middle order, they couldn’t strike the correct balance and only won six of their 14 games.

The year 2015 is the sixth.

Warner took over as captain, but it had little effect on the team’s fortunes, as the Sunrisers missed the playoffs for the second year in a row. They won seven of their fourteen games this time. Warner, on the other hand, was the tournament’s leading run-scorer.

champions in 2016

It was their first IPL title. Warner was once again in the fore, with Dhawan providing help with the bat and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mustafizur Rahman providing support with the ball. SRH defeated the Knight Riders in the eliminator, the Gujarat Lions in the second qualifier, and the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final after coming third in the group stage.

2017 is the third year

The defending champions were eliminated in the elimination round, but Warner took home the orange cap and Kumar took home the purple cap. Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan of Afghanistan made their IPL debuts this season; the latter won the Player-of-the-Match award in his second game and finished the competition with 17 wickets from 14 matches.

Runners-up in 2018

Kane Williamson stepped in magnificently when Warner was disqualified from the competition due to his role in the Newlands ball-tampering incident. With the bat, he topped the run charts and guided the team to the final, where they lost to Shane Watson and the Chennai Super Kings.

2019 is the fourth year.

Warner returned to the tournament, though not as captain, and finished as the competition’s best-run scorer for the third time. As an opening pair, he and Jonny Bairstow were fantastic, but the middle order and seamers couldn’t quite match them. They advanced to the playoffs thanks to a higher net run rate, however, they were eliminated in the first round by the Delhi Capitals.

2020 is the third year.

The Sunrisers overcome a slew of ailments to qualify for the playoffs for the fifth consecutive season with Warner at the helm. They fell to the Capitals in the second qualifier, but Jason Holder, Sandeep Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, and T Natarajan emerged as new heroes. who assisted them in their comeback following six losses in their first nine games. Players who are importantDale Steyn is a well-known author.
Steyn was the lynchpin for the Sunrisers’ rise to prominence as a bowling team. In 2013, he took 19 wickets in 17 matches for an economy of 5.66, helping the Sunrisers win nine games by defending totals under 150 or limiting opponents to that amount.

Kumar Bhuvneshwar

Kumar took over as Steyn’s form began to wane after 2013. From 2014 to 2017, he was the Sunrisers’ best wicket-taker for four years in a row, receiving the purple cap in the latter two. When Williamson was injured in 2019, he stepped in as captain. David Warner is the Sunrisers’ most prolific run-scorer, having reached 500 runs in each of his six seasons with the team. Under his leadership, the Sunrisers won their maiden IPL trophy, and Warner is the player who most people connect with the franchise.

Rashid Khan is a Pakistani actor.

Khan has been the Sunrisers’ MVP since his debut in 2017, with batsmen failing to cope with his rapid leg-breaks and googlies. Khan’s haul of wickets for the franchise is second only to Kumar’s, and he is the most economical bowler in IPL history, despite teams’ recent attempts to play out his four overs.

Kane Williamson is a rugby player who plays for New Zealand
Williamson doesn’t get to play every game, but when he does, he makes the most of it, whether it’s with the bat (only Warner and Dhawan have more runs for the Sunrisers) or as captain.

Also Related:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.