T20 World Cup 2022

TeamScheduleLive ScorePoint Table

T20 World Cup 2022

The T20 World Cup in 2022 is almost around the corner, and the best cricketing nations are preparing to compete for the title of T20 World Champions. The major event was originally slated to take place in India, but owing to the continuing pandemic, it has been moved to Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

The tournament’s previous iteration was held in India in 2016. West Indies earned their second World Cup title after defeating England in the final. The competition will include 16 teams, with eight teams competing in the first round and four of those advancing to the Super 12s phase.

T20 World Cup Formate

The T20 World Cup in 2022 will be split into two rounds. The tournament’s opening round will include the bottom eight teams in the ICC T20 standings.

The first round of the 2022 T20 World Cup has been split into two groups, with matches taking place in the UAE and Oman.

Sri Lanka, the Netherlands, Ireland, and Namibia are in Group A, and their round one matches will be held in the United Arab Emirates. Meanwhile, Oman, Scotland, Bangladesh, and Papua New Guinea have been placed in Group B, and their round one matches will be held in Oman.

Round one will consist of 12 matches, with the top two clubs from each group qualifying for the Super 12s.

The Super 12s will begin on October 24 and will take place in three locations: Sharjah, Dubai, and Abu Dhabi. The 12 teams will be divided into two groups, one for each of the four qualifying teams.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the competition semi-finals, where the first-place team from Group 1 will meet the second-placed club from Group 2, and vice versa.

T20 World Cup Venues

The T20 World Cup will be held in the UAE and Oman for the first time in history. The T20 World Cup will be staged in four different locations. The first-round matches will be held in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, and Oman, with the Super 12s stage taking place in Dubai.

The tournament’s first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi, while the second semi-final and final will be held in Dubai’s Dubai Cricket Stadium.

T20 World Cup Schedule

On October 17, 2022, Oman and Papua New Guinea will play each other in the tournament’s first match. The tournament’s first round will end on October 22, 2022, with Sri Lanka facing the Netherlands in the final group game.

The Super 12s round will begin on October 23 with Australia taking against South Africa in Group 1’s first match. On the 8th of November, India will play a qualifier from the first round in the Super 12s final.

The tournament’s semi-finals will take place on the 10th and 11th of November, with the 2022 T20 World Cup final taking place on the 14th of November in Dubai.

T20 World Cup Teams

Group 1 of the Super 12s round includes Australia, England, South Africa, and the West Indies, as well as two qualifiers, the top-placed team from Group A and the second-placed team from Group B from the first round.

Pakistan and India, arch-rivals, have been assigned to Group 2 of the Super 12s, which also includes New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two qualifiers, the first-placed team from Group B and the second-placed team from Group A from the first round.

South Africa hosted the first edition of the T20 World Cup in 2007. In the inaugural edition of the tournament, the MS Dhoni-led Indian team defeated Pakistan in the final and won the trophy.

Pakistan came back from a humiliating loss in the final of the 2007 event to win the second edition of the tournament, which was held in England in 2009. Shahid Afridi was chosen player of the match for his brilliant match-winning half-century as Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the final.

T20 World Cup Previous Winners

The tournament’s third edition took place in the West Indies in 2010. England won their first major ICC competition by defeating Australia in the final by 7 wickets.

The tournament’s fourth edition, held in 2012, was hosted in Sri Lanka. In the tournament final, the West Indies dominated the hosts, defeating them by 36 runs to win their first T20 World Cup championship.

In the following edition, held in Bangladesh in 2012, Sri Lanka managed to cross the finish line. The final was a replay of the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup final between Sri Lanka and India. Sri Lanka avenged themselves this time, defeating India by six wickets to win their first and only T20 World Cup.

The tournament’s sixth edition was held in India in 2016. West Indies won their second World T20 title after defeating England in the final by four wickets. Carlos Brathwaite, a West Indian all-rounder, hit Ben Stokes for four sixes in the final over of the contest as they chased down 19 runs in style.